‘‘Tales of Terror’’
Title of an anonymous collection of Gothic style ballads,
usually ascribed wrongly to Matthew Gregory Lewis. There are
actually two books with this title. The first, published in 1799,
included three of Lewis’s ballads, together with others by Sir
Walter Scott and Robert Southey, but does not appear to be
compiled by Lewis. The three ballads later appeared in his
book Tales of Wonder (1801).
A second Tales of Terror (1801) is a coarse and grotesque collection
that contains parodies of the work of Lewis and others,
and does not therefore seem to be compiled by Lewis either.
(See also English occult fiction.)