Farias, Ruben, Jr. (1954– )
Ruben Farias, Jr., is possibly the most famous of the contemporary
Brazilian Spiritualist healers. He was born on February
14, 1954 in San Paulo, Brazil. As a young man he trained as an
engineer and graduated in 1980 as a telecommunications engineer
from IME (Military Institute of Engineering). Then in the
1990s, he emerged as the most recent person in whom the spirit
entity Dr. Adolpho Fritz has manifested. Dr. Fritz first appeared
in the middle of the twentieth century as the spirit
guide of José Pedro de Fritas, who became known as José
Arigó, the Brazilian psychic surgeon. Arigó apparently performed
operations with an unsterilized pocket knife, though it
was understood that Fritz was doing the real work on the patient’s
astral body. Following Arigó’s untimely death in an automobile
accident in 1971, Dr. Fritz began to manifest through
several other healers, the most famous being Edson Queiroz
who worked in Recife, in northern Brazil. Like Arigó, he met
an untimely death in 1991.
Fritz reportedly began to possess Farias as early as 1986, but
became most active after Queiroz’s death. Since that time,
Farias has seen a reported 500,000 patients and been the subject
of a book and a television documentary. He has also accumulated
a number of testimonies of healing from patients who
reside outside of Brazil. He goes into trance to begin his healing
work and Dr. Fritz takes over as a secondary personality.
Like Arigó, he will actually open the body of patients with a
knife, and they apparently feel no pain. Also, like Arigó, he has
faced charges by the authorities that he is practicing medicine
without a license, but has withstood efforts to close his work to
Farias made his first visit to the United States in 2000. This
visit followed his acquittal in a 1999 court case in which he was
charged with practicing witchcraft and being a charlatan.
Dr. Fritz. httpalternative-health-4u.comdrfritz. June 11,
Maki, Masao. In Search of Brazil’s Quantum Surgeon The Dr.
Fritz Phenomenon. Redwood, N.Y. Cadence Books, 1998.

Previous articleFortean Society
Next articleFraud