Nature Spirits (or Elementals)
According to Theosophy, nature spirits have bodies composed
of the finer kinds of matter. There are countless hosts of
them, divided into seven classes, which, allowing for two unmanifested
forms, belong to the ether, air, fire, water, and
earth—the last four being called by followers of the Kabala,
sylphs, salamanders, undines, and gnomes respectively. At the
head of each class is a deva or inferior god.
Nature spirits are said to work in unsuspected ways, sometimes
lending their aid to human beings in the form of certain
National Spiritualist Association of Churches Encyclopedia of Occultism & Parapsychology • 5th Ed.
faculties, while those in the astral world are engaged in the creation
of form out of the matter that the outpouring of the
Logos has quickened, hence they form minerals, flowers, and
other aspects of nature.
These nature spirits of the astral worlds of course have bodies
of astral matter, and they frequently form mischievous or
other impulses and change the appearance of these bodies.
They are just beyond the limits of normal human vision, but
many sensitives of more acute vision can see them, while the action
of drugs is also believed to make them visible. (See also elementary
spirits; fairies)

Previous articleNacht, Sacha (1901– )
Next articleNightmare