Seven Principles (in Theosophy)
According to the teachings of Theosophy (derived from
Hinduism), there are seven principles or parts of the human
being that reflect cosmic principles. These concern the evolution
of life from the unmanifest principles through creation.
The seven principles of the human being are Atman (the universal
self), Buddhi (the intellectual principle), Manas (the mental
principle), Kama (desire), Prana (subtle vitality), Linga-sarira
(astral body), and Sthula-sarira (gross physical matter).
For convenience, these are sometimes simplified into three
principles of the human being spirit, soul, and body, as in
Christianity. These three parts are first and highest, the Divine
Spirit or the Divine Monad, rooted in the universe, whose spirit
is linked with the All, being in a mystical sense a ray of the All;
second, the intermediate part of Spiritual Monad, which in its
higher and lower aspects is the spiritual and human soul; third,
the lowest part of the human constitution, the vitalastralphysical
part, composed of material or quasi-material life
atoms. (See also Logos; Planetary Logos; Rupa)
Besant, Annie. The Seven Principles of Man. 1892. Reprint,
New York London & Bernes; Theosophical Publishing Society,