Solar Systems (in Theosophy)
Theosophy has presented a unique perspective on the formation
of solar systems. It postulates the existence of an all pervading
ether (a popular concept of nineteenth-century science,
later discarded), known as koilon, which is imperceptible to ordinary
senses and indeed even to clairvoyants except the most
highly-developed. It is considered dense despite its diffusion.
The Deity, intending to create a universe, invests this ether
with divine force to become matter in the shape of minute
drops or bubbles and the universe with its solar systems is
formed. First, a mass is aggregated by the appropriate agitation
of these drops and added to this mass is a rotatory motion.
The formed mass contains the matter to create all the seven
worlds. It may be possible to observe that these worlds are not
separate in the manner we usually conceive separate worlds to
be, but interpenetrate each other.
The substance in its original form is the texture of the first
world and to create the texture of the second–and lower–world,
the Deity sets up numerous rotatory agitations to collect 49
atoms arranged in a certain way, sufficient for the first atom to
form the first world.
This process continues six times, the atoms of the succeeding
lower worlds are formed from the world immediately
higher and each time with a multiple of forty-nine atoms. Gradually,
and with time, the aggregation containing the atoms of
all seven worlds completely intermingled, contracts until it
forms a nebula with the flat, circular form familiar to astronomy
The center is more dense than the fringes. During the process
of flattening and due to the initial revolving motion, rings
are formed encircling the center. From these rings the planets
are formed and later these planets can support human life.
The various worlds penetrate each other substantially within
the same bounds, with the exception being the worlds of finer
texture that extend beyond those relatively more dense. The
names of the worlds are first, the Divine World, which has not
yet been experienced by man; second, the Monadic whence
come the impulses that form human beings; third, the Spiritual
World, which is the highest world humans have experienced;
fourth, the Intuitional World; fifth, the Mental World; sixth,
the Emotional or Astral World; and seventh is the world of
matter familiar to us.
Some of these worlds are referred to in other entries as Adi
or Divine plane; Anupadaka plane (see Monad); Atmic, Nirvanic,
or Spiritual plane; and Buddhic or Intuitional plane. (See also
Evolution of Life)
Jinarajadasa, C. The Early Teachings of the Masters. Chicago
Theosophical Society, 1923.
Leadbeater, C. W. A Textbook of Theosophy. Adyar, Madras,
India Theosophical Publishing House, 1956.

Previous articleSharp, William (1856–1905)
Next articleThe Semites