Trench, (William) Brinsley Le Poer
Distinguished British authority on UFOs. He is the 8th Earl
of Clancarty and a member of the House of Lords, where he introduced
a serious debate on UFOs January 18, 1979. This was
a historic occasion—the first on which this subject had been discussed
by the British Parliament.
Born September 18, 1911, Trench is the fifth son of the fifth
Earl of Clancarty and of Mary Gwatkin. He was educated at
Nautical College, Pangbourne. His interest in UFOs extends
over thirty years. After World War II, he noticed many reports
of UFO sightings and began to collect press cuttings on the subject.
Through a meeting with Desmond Leslie, he was encouraged
to attend a lecture on flying saucers at Battersea Polytechnic,
Trench, Derek Dempster (aviation correspondent of the
British newspaper Daily Express), and other interested individuals
founded a company named Flying Saucer Service Ltd. and
commenced publication of a magazine Flying Saucer Review.
The first edition appeared in spring 1955 with Derek Dempster
as editor, followed by Trench in September 1956, then in September
1959 by Waveney Girvan. When Girvan died, the magazine
was edited by Charles Bowen. After 25 years of publication,
this remains the first authoritative British publication on the
subject of UFOs. It is now included in the House of Lords library.
In 1967, Trench founded Contact International, a worldwide
UFO organization with members in 37 different countries.
His interest led to his writing a variety of books including
some which moved from ufology to a consideration of the ancient
astronaut hypothesis.
He died May 18, 1995.
Trench, Brinsley Le Poer. The Eternal Subject. London Souvenir,
———. The Flying Saucer Story. London Neville Spearman,
———. Forgotten Heritage. London Neville Spearman,
———. Men Among Mankind. London Neville Spearman,
———. Operation Earth. London Neville Spearman, 1969.
———. Secret of the Ages UFOs From Inside the Earth. London
Souvenir Press, 1974.
———. The Sky People. London Neville Spearman, 1960.
Who’s Who 1996. New York St. Martin’s Press, 1996.